A Select Committee of the Legislative Council has been established to inquire into the 2022-23 River Murray flood event including the preparation, response and recovery, with particular consideration being given to:

(a) Roles and responsibilities of:
      i. State Government and Federal Government agencies;
      ii. Local government;
      iii. Non-profit organisations;
      iv. Public and private utilities;
(b) Review of communication between key stakeholders;
(c) River flow management and modelling;
(d) Effectiveness of mitigating infrastructure including but not limited to levy banks and stormwater;
(e) Review of flood response funding, its utilisation and effectiveness;
(f) Government (local, State and Federal) grant process, eligibility, and uptake;
(g) River restrictions methodology, communications, and operation;
(h) Impact of planning decisions on property inundation;
(i) Insurance industry response and responsibilities;
(j) Planning and mitigation for future emergency events; and
(k) Any other related matters.

The Select Committee will be travelling to the Riverland on Thursday 9 May and Friday 10 May 2024 to hear evidence and conduct site visits. Evidence will be heard at Berri.
Any person or organisation wishing to register an interest in presenting oral evidence or suggest a relevant site visit is invited to do so by Friday, 26 April 2024. Expressions of interest should be addressed to the Secretary to the Committee, C/- Parliament House, GPO Box 572, Adelaide 5001, or by e-mail at scmurrayflood@parliament.sa.gov.au.

For any queries, or for information on attending the hearings in the public gallery, please contact the Secretary by telephone on (08) 8237 9490 or as above.

Mr Anthony Beasley
Secretary to the Committee
Acknowledgement of Country

The Parliament of South Australia acknowledges Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the traditional owners of this country throughout Australia, and their connection to land and community. We pay our respect to them and their cultures and to the Elders both past and present.